backuptaya.blogg.se

Chronosync integrity check
Chronosync integrity check










  1. #Chronosync integrity check software#
  2. #Chronosync integrity check Pc#
  3. #Chronosync integrity check plus#

I've got weddings that I've erased entirely except for a few faves I use for portfolio. Even things like weddings, after a couple years I've never been contacted for additional prints etc. My best storage tool is cull, cull, cull! I literally erase 90% of everything I shoot. I use only two redundant toad drives, I think they're 4 TB each. Show more →īrian, as a non computer guy that doesn't fuss over the latest fast computer or a dozen redundant drives with 1/2 of them off site, we all have to do what works for us individually at a level we're comfortable with.Ĩ TB of fotos is a lot of fotos, especially when 50mp cameras haven't been around but for about 5 years! I would love some feed back from people who have been through this and have any suggestions or advice.

#Chronosync integrity check plus#

For example, I support one user that works off of one SSD plus two internal hard drives, and backs that up to 4x8TB HDD in a slowish NAS. Then you can back that up to something else or vice versa. A basic 5-bay NAS with Thunderbowls (assuming you are Apple branded?) would allow you to run RAID 5 or RAID 6. A simple option would be a couple of 2x16TB RAID 1 external drives for redundancy and future growth.

chronosync integrity check

RAID such as NAS is good for high availability, high capacity, and (with the right interface) better performance than single drives. Lots of external bays in various drive number configurations, I use OWC Thunderbay 4's.

#Chronosync integrity check software#

A better approach is to have an external bay where redundant drives store copies of your files and let software do this everyday and send you a report by email. It sounds like you need better backup software that writes files from one drive to another and then checks them for integrity, this can all be done in the background. Just a 2¢ epiphany I had recently.īeen there done that, got the lost hours of my life to show for it, avoid RAID as it is not a back up regime. So now, after I'm done, I go back and review all the ones with no stars to confirm I don't like them, then delete. I've always started out my editing by rating anything I like even a little 2**. Just because I can keep every frame I ever shot doesn't mean I should. Next level of security I've considered would be putting my NAS offsite.Īfter 17 years shooting RAW exclusively and a decade of telling people "storage is cheap, no excuse not to shoot RAW" I've recently started culling images. Multiple individual HDs provide WAY too many points of failure for my comfort. That's backed up to a NAS that IS a raid. I have a box from OWC with 4 drives storing my stuff in JBOD mode for ease of use and independence from proprietary raids. Once it is set up and running I plan on repurposing all my current hard drives as back ups and store them off site somewhere. It kills me to pay $2,000 but it sounds like that might be the best option and I can run it as either a raid 5 or raid 6. I was looking at LaCie 24Terabyte 6 bay system.

chronosync integrity check

I did some research and it sounds like it might be time to invest in a raid system. With my current hard drives filling up I am looking at buying new larger ones and then new back up drives too. I recently had a hard drive fail and was able to get my images back but it took a big effort and a lot of searching to find the back ups and restore them.

chronosync integrity check

The whole system is getting confusing with drives and cables everywhere. Unfortunately these seem to fill up with multiple copies of the images and there is no easy way to delete multiple copies of the same image on the back up drives. I have used a mix of Seagate backup plus drives to back up all of the originals. I back up all of my favorite processed JPGS online.

#Chronosync integrity check Pc#

I currently store the original images on two external hard drives connected to my PC that are starting to get filled up. I am a semi-professional landscape photographer.












Chronosync integrity check